Pig Destroyer – “Book Burner” – [Relapse Records]

Roland Blunt   10/12/2013   A Library, CD


An extreme metal tour de blunt force trauma…Book Burner (2012)…is the fifth full-length studio release from Virginia grindcore outfit Pig Destroyer. Vocalist J. R. Haynes (Enemy Soil), guitarist Scott Hull (Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Anal Cunt), drummer Adam Jarvis (Misery Index), and electronics manipulator Blake Harrison execute music that is truly at odds: frustrated, abrupt, drastic, fierce, caustic, relentless, discordant, careening, maniacally exhilarating collisions of excoriated sonic savagery. Beyond a mere alignment of individual songs, It’s a blistering 19 track, 32 minute concatenation of abstruse paroxysms that at once inform and transcend a sub-genre that culls influence from hardcore punk, thrash metal, death metal, industrial music, and power electronic noise…no bass player, no guitar solos, no vocal harmonies; no nonsense.

While sharing some technical and thematic elements with bands like Brutal Truth, Discordance Axis, Cattle Decapitation, and Burnt By The Sun…PD’s sound feels rooted in a hardcore punk style more so than in the more prevalent “deathgrind”, “noisecore” or “goregrind” micro-genres: snarling palm-muted power chords, trill-screech-squelch-pinch harmonics, blast beats, bass drum chattering, snare stabs, hyper-manic-stop-time tempo changes tendered as deranged…fleeting…intense outbursts overseen by a ranting, furiously disturbed vocal personae.

***Guest vocals from Richard Johnson (Enemy Soil, Agoraphobic Nosebleed) on “The Underground Man”, Jason Netherton (Misery Index) on “The Diplomat”, and Katherine Katz (Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Salome) on “Eve” and “The Bug”***



add comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.