Album Review

Eotvos, Peter – “Vocal Works” – [Budapest Music Center]

Cousin Mary   2/5/2012   A Library, CD

These 5 tracks have very diverse sounds from Hungarian composer Peter Eotvos (pronounce Pay-tear Oat-vosh).

  • Track 1 is modern atonal opera for orchestra and baritone.
  • Track 2, Harakiri, was inspired by a poem written about Yukio Mishima’s ritual suicide. It includes Japanese flutes and a wood chopper whose chunks of wood fall to the floor with thuds. Somber and full of dread.
  • Track 3 is manipulated tape recordings of an Hungarian folk tale.
  • Track 4 tells a tale of gallant insects and sounds a bit lighthearted and silly.
  • Track 5 uses manipulated recordings (probably not of crickets or nature) to produce a chirping soundscape sounding much like crickets.

One of the most unusual recordings that I have ever heard. Recommended!

you heard it 18 times on kfjc! most recently:
add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2022 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File