Album Review

Mori, Ikue – “Tracing the Magic” – [Tzadik]

aarbor   9/21/2022   A Library, CD

Ikue Mori was born and raised in Japan. She says she had little interest in music before hearing punk rock. In 1977, she went to New York, initially for a visit, but she became involved in the music scene, and stayed. Her first musical experience was as the drummer for the no wave band DNA. Though she had little prior musical experience (and had never played drums), Mori quickly developed a distinctive style: One critic describes her as “a tireless master of shifting asymmetrical rhythm”. This is her latest release on the Tzadik label. There are 7 tracks, each paying tribute to a woman who has inspired her. Mori’s notes give you a sense of each woman. Each track is quite different with somewhat different instrumentation although all include digital electronics. Of note are: track 2 which includes traditional Japanese instruments and sounds as well as prepared piano, and track 7 which includes bagpipes. AArbor

you heard it 34 times on kfjc! most recently:
  • 177 days ago, Avakhov played Moving Off The Earth (Joan Jonas)
  • 180 days ago, Ms. Conduct played Dusk to Dawn (Toko Shinoda)
  • 180 days ago, Naysayer played Falling Blue( Agnes Martin)
  • 180 days ago, Mitch LeMay played Falling Blue( Agnes Martin)
  • 187 days ago, Naysayer played Moving Off The Earth (Joan Jonas)
add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2023 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File