Album Review

DJ Qbert – “Extraterrestria” – [Thud Rumble]

MSTiZA   11/3/2014   CD, Hip Hop

Who is DJ Qbert? He is San Francisco[Excelsior neighborhood] native, Richard Quitevas. He is a member of the legendary Rock Steady Crew, co-founding member Invisibl Skratch Piklz, and world renown DMC Champion. It has been over 15 years since his last solo release, Wave Twisters (1998). This past summer he mobilized his fan base and generated over $100,000 to fund this double album project through social fundraising site, Kickstarter. Extraterrestria is one half of the project, GalaXXXian being the other half. Qbert is agile and adept. He builds a story of terrains, starting in the desert [1,2,4] in the east to western windstorms[5] to surf the deep sea waves [9]. Qbert scratches out percussion [3, 8, 10], let’s the graffiti go in Gotham city[6], and gets galactic [7]. Besides a few vocal samples, all tracks are instrumental. Extraterrestria sets the scene for DJ Qbert to capture your soul with Kung Fu master style Karate kuts, a fury of flicks in the mix, and scissor swift swipes.

you heard it 57 times on kfjc! most recently:
  • 155 days ago, Lurker played Jiu-Jitsu (Gaian) Ft. DJ IQ
  • 915 days ago, Mind Surfer played HuverKraft (Greys) Ft. Dana Leong, DJ Zeke & Coppe
  • 1142 days ago, Lurker played Broken Butterflies (Orion Hybrids)
  • 1189 days ago, Medusa of Troy played Jiu-Jitsu (Gaian) Ft. DJ IQ
  • 1703 days ago, Lurker played Broken Butterflies (Orion Hybrids)
add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2022 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File