Album Review

Ensemble Pearl [Drag City]

thewindow   4/25/2014   A Library

Sensual Drone-Pop Jams for the damned; Ensemble Pearl comprises Stephen O??? Malley (Sunn0))), Michio Kurihara, Atsuo (Boris), Eyvind Kang, Timba Harris (Secret Chiefs 3), and Bill Herzog. The music was written for a theatrical production by Gisele Vienne titled ???This is How You Disappear,??? about three characters seeking spiritual transcendence in a forest that mutates along with them. The theme of the play is the juxtaposition of beauty sought through order and perfection with beauty sought through chaos and destruction. Ensemble Pearl perfectly evoke this contrast with noise, drones, extended technique and a surprising amount of melodic hooks. Tracks 1-3 are shorter.

we haven't played it... yet

Fresh batches of new music are released to DJs every Wednesday evening, so check back in a few days.

add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2022 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File