Album Review

Krzysztof Penderecki “Symphony #7: ‘The Gates of Jerusalem'” [Wergo]

cujo   10/10/2006   A Library, CD

A new face to KP’s music is added to KFJC’s library here – and a very welcome one. MASSIVE vocal and orchestral forces combine in a typically Polish postwar lyrical idiom (see also Lutoslawski & especially Gorecki for contemporaries). It’s in 7 movements. See the excellent liner notes (you go, Wergo!) for details. The dramatic climax is in part V, but remarkable aural thrills follow through to the end.

Desperate but not frantic.

-Cujo, KFJC, October 2006

you heard it 29 times on kfjc! most recently:
  • 607 days ago, Katie 2 played Part I: Magnus Dominus Et Laudabilis Nimis
  • 1442 days ago, Hemroid the Leader played Part VI: Hajeta Alai Jad Adonai
  • 1940 days ago, Morris Minor played Part I: Magnus Dominus et laudabilis nimis
  • 1982 days ago, Fox Populi played Part V: Lauda, Ierusalem, Dominum
  • 2228 days ago, Mickey Slim played Part I: Magnus Dominus et laudabilis nimis
add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2020 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File