Album Review

This Comp Kills Fascists Volume 2 [coll] – [Relapse Records]

Naysayer   9/3/2013   A Library, CD

19 bands! 74 songs! Hardcore punk! Grindcore! Power violence! And this is volume 2.
“This Comp Kills Fascists Volume 2” is an overwhelming collection of more than an hour of screaming, thrashing, harsh, pounding sound. Yes, the guitars shred in familiar riffs. Bass lines keep it all centered. The vocals are loud, guttural, sometimes cookie monster stylings, other times that vocal style that sounds like a knife and glass is being rammed down someone’s throat and across their vocal chords. I’m sure there is a name for it but I don’t know it, yet it definitely gets your attention. It’s the drumming, though, the drumming that rams this collection through your stomach. How can humans actually move that fast? The pounding, the riffs, the trills, the whatever you call it. It is all SO FREAKING FAST! Amazing! And fantastic. Oh, and there are vocals too, with some lyrics printed on the cut and paste collage booklet that comes with the collection. I don’t know if it is worth reading them since, well, they are not the strong point, but feel free to check it out. You might be moved by them. Think of the vocals as another instrument and it works great. I have to say I really enjoy this collection. I’ve been playing it for awhile, even through the serene settings of Yellowstone National Park, but that’s another story. Enjoy it for all its excess. And kill a fascist while you listen.

you heard it 55 times on kfjc! most recently:
  • 629 days ago, Teachers AIDS played You're On Your Own
  • 629 days ago, Teachers AIDS played The Terrorists Win
  • 629 days ago, Teachers AIDS played My Grandma's Fucking a Tranny From Alaska
  • 629 days ago, Teachers AIDS played Atrophy of The Mind
  • 804 days ago, Coffin for Two played You Are Not Going to Heaven
add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2022 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File