Album Review

Emit – “a Sword of Death For The Prince” – [Total Holocaust Records]

abacus   8/27/2013   12-inch, A Library


Challenge your mental stability with Emit’s 2005 debut of debilitating black metal noise torture out of Somerset, England. The album opens with terrifying explosions of fury and anguish before subsiding into tweaked guitar drone of feedback flagellation. Still tormented by snarling spiteful voices in the back of your head, the pain and illusion become almost too much to bear. The guitar abominations flay the skin off your back and drag down your wrist, setting a perfect backdrop for the misanthropic exhortations and sinister sermons of sorrow and suffering. Agonizing incantations that range from deranged snickering to maniacal shrieking all submerged in the sonic obliteration. Sometimes a melody peaks through, but always torn down and pissed on, nothing beautiful survives. There are moments of haunting dark ambiance, with chilling organ drones and windy sweeps, even a soothing lullaby to lurk in your nightmares amidst the bonus tracks on side D. You will find no hope hear though. There is only misery. Try not to kill yourself, but do what you must.

you heard it 12 times on kfjc! most recently:
  • 1256 days ago, Teachers AIDS played Nitimur In Vetitum
  • 1762 days ago, Teachers AIDS played Sinister Obliteration of Human Humus (Raw Hermetic Materials
  • 2902 days ago, Number 6 played Sorrow and Suffering Beget Triumph (Amaka Hahina Interpretat
  • 3160 days ago, Number 6 played Cold Fire
  • 3522 days ago, abacus finch played Herald The Dawn With You Offerings
add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2023 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File