Album Review

Casiotone For The Painfully Alone – “Etiquette” – [Tomlab]

ophelia necro   5/17/2006   A Library

4th album from CFTPA. Owen Ashworth is the voice and soul behind this project. He wrote all but one of the 12 tracks on this album (track 12-“Love Connection” a Parenthetical Girls cover.) On this release, Ashworth has expanded his bedroom recording project usually limited to battery powered electronics to include a small orchestra of pianos, organs, strings, flutes, pedal steel guitars, drums, drum machines, syntesizers and vocal contributions from Katy Davidson (Dear Nora) on track 8, Sam Mickens (The Dead Science) track 7, and longtime friend Jenn Herbinson on tracks 6 & 12. The album recorded over the course of a year in S.F.and Seattle. I prefer tracks 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 11 and 12. There is a heart wrenching quality to Ashworth’s songs that is hard to shake. Beautifully Alone.

you heard it 56 times on kfjc! most recently:
add comment
Your comment may be revised by KFJC editors.
Copyright © 2023 KFJC 89.7 FM
12345 S. El Monte Road Los Altos Hills, California 94022
Public Inspection File