About KFJC
Program Schedule
Specials and Events
Donations and Swag
Music and Playlists
Broadcast Archives
KFJC Music Reviews
  KFJC 89.7 FM

Zs – “Music Of The Modern White” – [The Social Registry]

Coming from Brooklyn, Sam Hillmer (tenor sax), Amnon Freidlin (electric guitar), Ben Greenberg (electric guitar) & Ian Antonio (drums) currently make up Zs the band. Formed in 2000 they’ve gone through all sorts of “tet”s.
Side A starts out with random drum blasts, almost like a locomotive chugging. Followed by some swankering sustained sax. It takes a (bad? weird? absstract?) edit into shimmering textures of stringing feedbacks. The last little bit sounds like eerie electronic midnight waves, crashing and whistling in the wind with a moaning sax.
Side B starts of with some tenor, and gets fun with a round of knee-slapping and hi-fiving mixed with a singular guitar. Pretty creative and playful. Drumrolls and whiny sax to follow.

  • Reviewed by cinder on August 21, 2009 at 3:43 pm
  • Filed as 12-inch,A Library
  • Comment on this review

  • Comment on this review


     Copyright © 2018   KFJC 89.7 FM
    12345 S. El Monte Road   Los Altos Hills, California   94022   phones