About KFJC
Program Schedule
Specials and Events
Donations and Swag
Music and Playlists
Broadcast Archives
KFJC Music Reviews
  KFJC 89.7 FM

Rose, Jack – “Dr. Ragtime and His Pals ” – [Tequila Sunrise]

An official CD issue of Rose’s 2002 short-run CD-R release, presenting him performing with guitarist Glenn Jones of Cul-de-Sac (another player with Fahey influences) and some of Rose’s former associates from Pelt on other instruments such as banjo and harmonica. Not quite the hoe-down that the title might suggest, but the tunes are more upbeat perhaps than on Rose’s other releases. They draw on earlier styles, with a cover of Sam McGee’s “Buckdancer’s Choice”, Sylvester Weaver’s “Soft Steel Piston”, Robert Johnson’s “Walkin’ Blues”, and there’s some gospel as well.

This reissue is packaged by Tequila Sunrise as a 2 disc set with an earlier Rose effort that had gone out of print, “Jack Rose”, aka “Self-Titled”. Both CDs feature the tracks “Miss May’s Place” and “Revolt”, but in different versions. Additionally, some of the tracks were out on a single in 2005 under the “Dr. Ragtime” name. Alas, the two Dr. Ragtime tracks released on a limited edition of only 6! 78 r.p.m. discs in 2005 are *not* here!

  • Reviewed by ArtCrimes on July 3, 2008 at 7:48 am
  • Filed as A Library,CD
  • 1 comment

  • One Comment

    Killer album but there are a few technical inaccuracies in this review…

    - This release is unrelated to the 2002 CD-R.

    - Only one of the two songs from his Dr. Ragtime 7″ on Sacred Heart Library is on this CD, and it’s a different recording entirely.

    - The tracks on the 78 lathe are live and not really suited for this release. One of the songs, “Flirtin’ With the Undertaker,” appears on his Kensington Blues full-length (albiet a studio version) as well as the 2002 CD-R, also a different recording. I guess my point is that this isn’t a compilation of sorts; these songs were recorded specifically for this album.

    It’s worth noting that the guests aren’t limited to former Pelt associates, too — Micah Blue Smaldone plays on “Bells” and “Soft Steel Piston” — not coincidentally two of the better tracks on this album, I think!


  • Comment by Jeremy, July 5th, 2008 6:45 pm

  • Comment on this review


     Copyright © 2018   KFJC 89.7 FM
    12345 S. El Monte Road   Los Altos Hills, California   94022   phones