About KFJC
Program Schedule
Specials and Events
Donations and Swag
Music and Playlists
Broadcast Archives
KFJC Music Reviews
  KFJC 89.7 FM

$100 Guitar Project [coll] – [Bridge Records]

In 2010, Chuck O’Meara saw a no-name electric guitar for sale for $100 online and joked that he should buy it and have his many guitar playing friends use it to record a track for an album. Then he actually did it. Each musician had one week to make their track and to pass it to the next musician. It resulted in 2 CDs (69 tracks) of incredible variety (rock, blues, experimental, noise, etc., etc.), lots of fine playing, and a ton of creativity. Many of them rose to the challenge by determining what this particular guitar had going for it; no room for equipment snobbery here. Great stuff; I did not get bored listening to all the tracks on both CDs in one sitting. RECOMMENDED!!

PGM: No “vocals” except tracks 10 and 11 of CD2. See liner notes for individual track info on recording and artist. Tracks, many of which are very short, could be played a few at a time to show contrast.

  • Reviewed by Cousin Mary on March 8, 2013 at 6:34 pm
  • Filed as A Library,CD


    Whoops! Nick D had a little to do with this project, too!

  • Comment by Nick Didkovsky, March 9th, 2013 6:01 am
  • @Nick Didkovsky – absolutely – as I understand from the liner notes, you were in on the project from the beginning and have 6 of the tracks in the project. Tell us more!

    (As you can probably tell from KFJC reviews, they are often mostly directed at other DJs for use on the air.)

  • Comment by Cousin Mary, March 9th, 2013 10:32 am
  • Very cool to see local stations talking about the $100 Guitar Project.

  • Comment by Ray Kallas, March 9th, 2013 6:33 pm
  • Maybe I’ll do a $10 guitar project.

  • Comment by Max Level - KFJC, March 21st, 2013 9:45 am

  • Comment on this review


     Copyright © 2018   KFJC 89.7 FM
    12345 S. El Monte Road   Los Altos Hills, California   94022   phones